All-SWC honors for Masuk spring sports athletes

Nick Lorusso was named to the All-SWC baseball first team. — Andy Hutchison photo

Nick Lorusso was named to the All-SWC baseball first team. — Andy Hutchison photo


Thirty-four Masuk High athletes have earned All-South West Conference honors for the recently completed spring sports season.

Seven of the honorees came from the Masuk softball team, which went undefeated and won conference and state championships. Erica Pullen, Sam Schiebe, Alexa Bacoulis, Megan McFarland, and Madison Procyk were all selected to the All-SWC first team, while Gretchen Bunovsky and Emily Lange made the All-Colonial team.

Nick Lorusso was named to the All-SWC baseball first team. Chris Nicolia and Enzo Merlonghi were picked for the All-Colonial squad, and Gianno Merlonghi received honorable mention.

Masuk boys lacrosse players Mickey Zuk, Max Mirizio, and Chris Tillotson were chosen to the All-SWC second team. Teammates Ryan Shaw and Thomas Insalaco received honorable mention.

In girls lacrosse, Gabby Beckett and Juliana Henry made the All-SWC first team. Caseley Raymond was named to the All-Colonial squad, and Lexi Kocis earned honorable mention.

Tristan McDonough represented Masuk on the All-SWC boys volleyball first team. Kevin Brown received honorable mention.

Four Masuk boys golfers earned All-SWC honors. Andrew Maslar and Peter Cosmedy were selected to the first team, and Kyle Immel and Tyler Michalka made the second team.

Masuk supplied two of the six players on the All-SWC girls golf team, as Emma Michetti and Kaitlyn Logan were chosen.

Conor Mahony made the All-SWC second team in boys outdoor track and field. Teammates Aidan McShane and Mitchell Hornak received honorable mention.

Amaan Ashab, who won the conference’s individual championship at first singles, was named to the All-SWC boys tennis first team. Masuk teammates Jackson Kelman and Wen Jay Lim earned honorable mention.

Listed below are the non-Masuk players who were named to All-SWC first teams:


Bethel: Tyler Davis, Jaxon Millet, Andy Ridzik.

Bunnell: Tyler Vancho

Immaculate: James Fahey

New Fairfield: Sean King, Jared O’Connor

New Milford: Derek Profita, Austin Swanson

Newtown: Ben Harrison, Todd Petersen, Kyle Roche

Notre Dame: Dillon Higgins, Pete Minore

Weston: Dan Covino

Stratford: Braydon Seaburg


Pomperaug: Kaitlin Flood, Samantha Wisnefsky

Newtown: Sara Kennedy

Brookfield: Alyssa Lionetti, Claire Lennon

Joel Barlow: Claire McCann, Abby Ota, Scotland Davis

Notre Dame: Lucy Grant, Breana Brown

New Fairfield: Dana Giardina

New Milford: Kate Siegel

Boys lacrosse

New Fairfield: John Morgan, Brent Tenaglia, Dylan Hanley, Matt Carlucci, Nick Alviti, James Leary, Zachary Buffington, Liam Ford

Joel Barlow: Tyler Starrett, Danny Molinaro, Cal Peterson, Kevin Richetelli, Grant LaGaipa, Alec Wilson

Newtown: Tucker Garrity, Layton Harrel, Kyle Shirk,Tanner Stergue

Weston: James Goetz, Jason Baisley

Girls lacrosse

Pomperaug: Melanie Silverman, Allison McCormick, Katie Schenk, Trish Yule

New Fairfield: Dominique DeMarsico, Katelyn Sousa, Maggie Orloff, Rachel Mikolay

Newtown: Alex Futterman, Rylee Harrell, Lauren Carrino

Bethel: Christina Ruiz

Weston: Grace Toner, Camryn Kirk

Joel Barlow: Cat Goncalves, Julia Shapiro, Molly Carroll

Brookfield: Sadie Smart

Immaculate: Caroline Wax

Boys volleyball

Newtown: Ardian Kodzodzika, Eric Moore

Joel Barlow: Matthew Cruz, Anthony Ruzzo, Finn McCaffrey

Oxford: Jake Suttile

Boys golf

Immaculate: Jack Woods

Notre Dame: AJ Bouvier

Joel Barlow: Peirce Beach

Weston: Matt Lagana

Girls golf

Newtown: Sarah Houle

Joel Barlow: Molly Healy

Notre Dame: Katelyn Pond

Weston: Halley Melito

Boys outdoor track and field

Bunnell: Elijah Henry, Ramsley Exantus, Christ N’Dabian, Jonathan Cineus, Tyreek Smith

Stratford: Khalil Carr

New Milford: Charles Osborne, Eli Nahom, Michael Tarby, Chase Schuster, Luke Chastain, James Day

Weston: Timothy Lautenbach, Tobey Bill, Pascal Hawkins, Zachary Yung

Brookfield: Khaled Elmady

Newtown: Brett Deri, Zachary Crebbin, Aiden Jasinski

Girls outdoor track and field

Newtown: Carly Swierbut, Marley Marston

Immaculate: Emma Connolly, Audrey Sedensky, Molly Coyle, Dominique Valentine, Aileen Doherty, Taylor Mascetta

Pomperaug: Kate Wiser, Lissandra Marshall, Isabella Azar-Brandes

Bunnell: Dardielle Exantus, Fabiola Millien-Faustin, Kesiri Gonzales, Abby Williams, Hannah McLaughlin

Weston: Elise Russell, Hannah Greene

Joel Barlow: Hannah Ceva

Boys tennis

Joel Barlow: Adam Ortiz, Alex Klein Wassin, Eric Raut, Noah Sobel

Pomperaug: Ryan Dagan

Weston: Drew Berkin, Grady Tazain, Matthew Sydney, Reid Brostoff, Sebastian Casellas, Stephen Blinder, Steven Dampf

Girls tennis

Weston: Cayla Koch, Ally D’Aquino, Claire DiMarco, Nicole Herman, Sammie Godwin, Annika Mirchandani

Joel Barlow: Maddie Massey, Cally Higgins, Elizabeth McCain

Newtown: Marie Ann Tomaj, Julia Anderson, Amanda Conrod

Bethel: Sohia Islam

Pomperaug: Zoe Klein


About author

By participating in the comments section of this site you are agreeing to our Privacy Policy and User Agreement

Submit your comment

Please enter your name

Please enter a valid email address

Please enter your message

© HAN Network. All rights reserved. Monroe Courier, 1000 Bridgeport Avenue, Shelton, CT 06484

Designed by WPSHOWER

Powered by WordPress